CeBIH chairman pledges to grow adoption of e-payment

Newly elected Chairman, Committee of E-Banking Industry Heads, (CeBIH), Mr.  Dele Adeyinka has pledged to focus on growing the adoption of electronic payment technologies in the country.

He stated this in Lagos after the election of new executives to run the affairs of the group.

Adeyinka, who is also the Head of e-Business, Wema Bank, said:  “The new executives will focus on the vision of CeBIH, which is to grow the adoption of electronic payment products and solutions by bringing in global best practices in technology, policies, public awareness and innovation.

Appreciating members of the Committee for the confidence reposed in the new set of executives, he promised to work on enhancing and boosting the image of the Committee, adding the executive will also focus on active engagement of the regulators and stakeholders in the industry.

Prior to his election, Adeyinka served as Vice-Chairman in the previous executive. He had also served the Committee in various capacities like Secretary, Financial Secretary and Treasurer. He had also represented CeBIH on various committees at the CBN and with other stakeholders.

In his remarks, the outgoing Chairman of CeBIH, Mr. Tunde Kuponiyi  urged all members to be more committed and to support the incoming executives, stressing that a lot still needs to be done as the payment industry in Nigeria is still evolving and there’s still a lot to be done. Kuponiyi also appreciated all members of CeBIH for the hands of co-operation extended to the executive in the last two years. He also took out time to appreciate the members of the executive committee he led for their commitment and attributed the successes recorded to their cooperation.

The new CeBIH executive includes:  Vice Chairman, Mr.  Deji Oguntonade (GTBank); Secretary, Bob Nwojo (First Bank); Assistant Secretary, Celestina Appeal (Zenith Bank); and Financial Secretary, Ben Anyalenkeya (Unity Bank). Other are Treasurer, Kayode Olubiyi (Diamond Bank); Publicity Secretary, Funso Oyelohunnu (Ecobank);   Asst Publicity Secretary,  Tayo Adegbohungbe (Skye Bank); Policy Review/Advocacy Secretary,  Stanley Jacob (Standard Chartered Bank);  and Internal Auditor,  Olusegun Falana (FCMB).

 Established July 2009, CeBIH comprises of all heads of e-business/e-channels and cards services of all the 23 banks in Nigeria. The primary objective of the Committee is to promote electronic banking services in line with global best practices and serve as a forum for sharing ideas and experiences by the E-banking industry heads.

B4 B2