Experts to examine e-payment regulation (PUNCH)

Banking and electronic payment experts will later this week in Abuja examine the role of policy regulation in the implementation of the payment system at the 2014 retreat of the Committee of e-Banking Industry Heads. To lead discussions at the retreat are the Deputy Governor, Operations, Central Bank of Nigeria, Mr. Sulemain Barau; the Group Managing Director, United Bank for Africa Plc, Mr. Philips Oduoza; and Director, Banking and Payments System, CBN, Mr. Dipo Fatokun.

According to a statement by CeBIH, other speakers are the United Kingdom-based global retail payments expert, John Chaplin, Chief Commercial Officer, Emerging Market Payments, Egypt, Hany Fekry; and Senior Sales Specialist at NCR Corporation, Mr. Omar El Moataz,

The theme of the two-day retreat is “Payment System Vision 2020 – creating an enabling environment through policy regulations”. The statement quoted the CeBIH President, Mr. Tunde Kuponiyi, as saying, “The Payment System Vision 2020 has been developed with guidelines that ensure the nation’s payments system is nationally utilised and internationally recognised.

“CeBIH recognises the inevitability of a conducive regulatory environment for the successful implementation of the goals and objectives of the PSV 2020, hence the committee’s decision to explore the theme-Payment System Vision 2020: Creating an enabling environment through policy regulations at this annual retreat”. He said the retreat would leverage on the wealth of experiences of the various speakers to explore the dynamics of developing a vibrant payment system in an environment of conducive policy regulations.

Explaining further, the Managing Director, Intermarc Consulting, Mr. Adeyinka Adeyemi, said governments globally had come to recognise the impact of electronic payments on the overall economy of nation states and, as such, had focused on creating virile and conducive environments for payment systems and structures to thrive. Established July 2009, CeBIH comprises all heads of e-business/e-channels and cards services of all the 23 banks in the country. The primary objective of the committee is to promote electronic banking services in line with global best practices.